Yoni Ki Baat

If you’re a liberal arts student you’ve probably heard of the Vagina Monologues at some point.
Over the years, the Monologues have become a symbol of mainstream feminism and the subject of many jokes. While the proponents of the monologues and its critics have problems with the Monologues’ message and methodology, I’m going to wager if you ask a number of them to name those issues, intersectionality wouldn’t be a focus.

I was sitting in section for one of my classes, when an acquaintance of mine asked me if was going to Yoni Ki Baat.
“Sorry?” I asked.

“Yoni Ki Baat. It’s sort of like Vagina Monologues. People are performing tonight. Are you coming?”

“Sure,” I said, intrigued and quickly typing the name into Google. Thankfully Google, the omnipresent entity was able to provide me with the information I needed to not completely embarrass myself. Yoni Ki Baat or, loosely in English, Talks of the Vagina would be performed that night in Angell Hall. The theme would be “We Kiss and Tell” and the funds would go to support

“My race is white but my ethnicity is Indian,” one girl said during

Yoni Ki Baat, a performance started in 2003 by South Asian Sisters, focuses precisely on addressing this issues.

**Several days ago, heard progressive women politicians

Leave a Reply

